Linux simplicity

by

I love linux – it’s so clean and simple. Today I wanted to record a section of a DVD (of a Wycliffe member being interviewed on TV) in mp3 format so that I could email it to another member who is visually impaired.

In Windows I would have been searching for a while, trying to separate the malware from the rubbish in a vain attempt to find some free programme that would do what I wanted without clogging up my computer. In linux I just searched for “rip dvd mp3 linux” and found this page.

3 minutes and three commands (the last of which looks complicated but is well explained in the tutorial) later I have my mp3.

sudo apt-get install lsdvd transcode

lsdvd

transcode -i /dev/dvd -x dvd -T 1,1,1 -a 0 -y raw -m filename.mp3

And the best thing is I can relax knowing that the software came from a central repository, so isn’t going to cause my computer to crash, spy on me or be generally annoying.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Linux simplicity”

  1. eddie Says:

    The problem is I don’t have time to learn Linux – I wish I did. I loved using DOS; I was in control of my computer then. Each iteration of Windoze has taken me further and further away from understanding what is happening.

Comments are closed.


