words to inspire

by

Alexander McCall Smith‘s The No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency has captured my fancy – and routed my thoughts toward Africa, most delightfully, once again. I have laughed aloud at Smith’s permeable wit and authentic characters in this story set in the African country of Botswana. One line brought very welcome feelings of home, liberty and peace, as it reads,

I am just a tiny person in Africa, but there is a place for me, and for everybody, to sit down on this earth and touch it and call it their own.

It spoke to me also of freedom and space. No constraint, nor barriers. The words inspired my imagination and my creativity – and below resides the byproduct. Because I am not a trained artist, it may not be so pleasing to your eyes as the process of bringing the colours and shapes alive with my fingers was to me. But alas, here it is…

Botswana mama in open bush, in Oil Pastels
Tags: , , , , ,


